Punishing potty mouths

In a large family, there is always a feud going on. I generally let the fire burn out on its own. There are a few times when I will intervene, threat of violence, or potty mouth. My little red has a temper, maybe it’s because of the red hair. He can belt out some potty words aimed at his sisters. Now let me clarify that by potty mouth I mean, mean spirited insults. Now he has been known too cuss the Devil.

When I was growing up punishment was different then modern day. If I said a potty word I would been eating some Ivory soap. I don’t remember actually needing to eat the soap. It seemed dangerous somehow. I vowed to never force my child to eat soap.

I came up with something much better and worse tasting! Little Red hates black strap molasses, so every time he uses inexcusable language, I break out the bottle of molasses. He hates the taste and his potty mouth episodes have decreased. Plus it is actually nutritious for him.

Just to clarify, I’m in no way bashing any parents choice of punishment. Do what works in your family. I just thought I would share what works in mine.

About givethemavoice77

I'm a 30 something married mother of 6 kids. 3 girls, 2 boys and an angel in heaven. I am a stay at home mom and a home educator. I have 3 children with mental disabilities and learning disabilities. 1 child who just recently received an autism diagnoses. I love education, traveling in the US, researching autism, frugal living, fun family activities, spending hours on end in the library. Most people label me and my family as weird and nerdy.......I'm honored to have that title!
This entry was posted in Family, Homeschool, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Punishing potty mouths

  1. I, too, have a not-so-fond memory of tasting ivory soap . . . and I also thought how cruel (yet effective) it is . . . I haven’t had to deal with potty mouth yet, but I know my sister used hot sauce for a while on my nephew who had quite the temper 😉 I like your alternative too.

Leave a Reply

