Is it fun or is it learning?

Our homeschool is very relaxed, borderline unschool. Homeschooling kids with autism disorder is a huge challenge for me. Most curriculum choices tend to work only for a few months or not at all. My husband has paid thousands of dollars over the years for math and reading programs. Saxon, CLP, BJU, Horizon, Abeka. Yup, we have purchased them all. These books sit practically unused on a shelf collecting dust.

Not much traditional school work has been done this week. We have done some baking, cooking, occupational therapies, speech therapies, educational games on the IPAD, put together jigsaw puzzles and practiced sight words. Not much in the way of the average 9 year old homeschooler. But then again my kids are not your ordinary 9 year olds. I always feel like a slacker for not trying too keep up with the “joneses”

Last night I went to the school room and pulled down the monopoly game. I gathered the kids in the LVR and we put the game together. They had never played it and I was concerned that their skills wouldn’t be up to snuff. Boy was I wrong! They were adding, counting money, and strategizing their next moves. They had a blast and so did I! I had to do the reading for them but they were learning. We played for 3 hours!

They never had a clue that they were learning!

About givethemavoice77

I'm a 30 something married mother of 6 kids. 3 girls, 2 boys and an angel in heaven. I am a stay at home mom and a home educator. I have 3 children with mental disabilities and learning disabilities. 1 child who just recently received an autism diagnoses. I love education, traveling in the US, researching autism, frugal living, fun family activities, spending hours on end in the library. Most people label me and my family as weird and nerdy.......I'm honored to have that title!
This entry was posted in Autism, Homeschool, Parenting, unschool and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

