Easy and one of a kind Christmas ornament

Many years ago I was in a rush to find a Christmas gift for my mother. Money was tighter then normal that particular year. I looked around the house and came up empty handed. Then it came to me, make homemade ornaments.

Materials needed:

Canning lids and rings
Ribbon
Pictures of your family
Spray paint
Paint pen

Tools needed:

Drill with small drill bit (1/8 inch)
Newspaper to protect your work area
Mask (to wear while painting)
Scissors

Let’s get to work.

Be sure to work In a well ventilated area. Cover your work area with newspaper. Put on your mask. Take your canning lids and rings and spray
Paint them a color of your choice. Lay them flat to dry. It can take up to 6 hours for this drying process. So, this is probably best done the night before.

Once dryed take your pictures of choice and use a painted can ring as a guide to cut your picture into a circle. Using the drill/drill bit drill a small hole into the back of the canning lid and picture. Now put the picture face down into the canning ring. Place the canning lid on the back. Thread your ribbon through the holes and tie enough length to hang onto the tree.

The one issue I had, was keeping the pieces together. I used invisible tape to the back of the lid. I agree that I could have probably used some craft glue.

Happy crafting!

This craft could be done by children. However, parental guidance is highly suggested. Spray paint can be toxic if inhaled….please take extreme caution while using it. This is only a suggested craft and the owner if this blog is not responsible for the outcome.

About givethemavoice77

I'm a 30 something married mother of 6 kids. 3 girls, 2 boys and an angel in heaven. I am a stay at home mom and a home educator. I have 3 children with mental disabilities and learning disabilities. 1 child who just recently received an autism diagnoses. I love education, traveling in the US, researching autism, frugal living, fun family activities, spending hours on end in the library. Most people label me and my family as weird and nerdy.......I'm honored to have that title!
This entry was posted in christmas, Crafts, Frugal living, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

