Trick or treating

Trick or treating 2012 has come and gone! 2 of my kiddos painted their faces and even wore costumes. I almost cried too see them participate in the festivities. Their sensory issues have never allowed them to get into Halloween. My autistic child didn’t dress up and he sat with a sullen face in his stroller as countless people tdid him how cute he was. I felt so sad for him. My “normal” son age 7 refused to dress up stating it is just a waste of time. We visited about 50 houses and then I took my 7 year old back to the van to wait for my husband and the rest of the crew.

It was a beautiful time and I am so blessed that I was able too spend that time building memories with my children.  My 3 year old didn’t enjoy the actual trick or treating, but he had a terrific time afterward eating a few well deserved treats. 

How does your child( or yourself)  with special needs celebrate “busy holidays” 

About givethemavoice77

I'm a 30 something married mother of 6 kids. 3 girls, 2 boys and an angel in heaven. I am a stay at home mom and a home educator. I have 3 children with mental disabilities and learning disabilities. 1 child who just recently received an autism diagnoses. I love education, traveling in the US, researching autism, frugal living, fun family activities, spending hours on end in the library. Most people label me and my family as weird and nerdy.......I'm honored to have that title!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

