Mother of autistic children

In 2009 I gave birth to my 6th and final baby…..a boy. My pregnancy was rough. I suffered from gestational diabetes, preeclampsia, and premature labor. I spent numerous different nights in the hospital to stop my labor. I had ultra sounds every week. At 36 weeks I delivered a cuddly baby boy. After 4 days in the NICU he went home. He was a happy baby and smiled and laughed at everything. He met every milestone early. He was speaking in sentences by age 2. One night while I was preparing homeschool curriculum for the next day, I heard a what sounded like coughing. I went down the hall doing bedroom checks and everyone was sound asleep. As I neared my 2 year olds door, I could see his little body jerking. He was having a seizure. He had never had a seizure before and I was freaking out. My healthy baby boy was sick! We went to the hospital and they sent us home. One month later we are going about our day in our normal fashion. We went to do our volunteer work like we normally would do.  everything was fine but then my son started falling down like he was intoxicated. He fell and hit his head time and time again. As the day went on he was back to his normal self. That night my teenage daughter baby sat while I attended church services. I received a frantic call telling me my son was having a seizure and the EMT’S couldn’t  get him to stop. When I arrived they were working on him and would not let me near the ambulance. That was the most hopeless feeling….watching my baby dying! We sped in the ambulance to the children’s hospital, were we stayed for many days.  My son was diagnosed as epileptic. Things were different now. My son had lost his speech and he no longer smiled. He stopped eating solid foods and began making strange sounds in his throat. He no longer wanted to be touched and liked to stay by himself in his room. What the heck is going on? After much challenges I finally got my pediatrician to refer us for autism testing. I remember that dr. Looking at me and saying your son has autism. I choked those tears away. What the heck does she mean my son has autism? I was devastated. What had I done wrong too make this happen? It has been 2 weeks since we heard the diagnoses and I am no longer doing the blame game. I am now in a drive together as much info as I can to help my family and maybe your family too!

About givethemavoice77

I'm a 30 something married mother of 6 kids. 3 girls, 2 boys and an angel in heaven. I am a stay at home mom and a home educator. I have 3 children with mental disabilities and learning disabilities. 1 child who just recently received an autism diagnoses. I love education, traveling in the US, researching autism, frugal living, fun family activities, spending hours on end in the library. Most people label me and my family as weird and nerdy.......I'm honored to have that title!
This entry was posted in Autism, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

